Proactive vs. Reactive Behavior

September 14, 2015 — Leave a comment

proactive or reactive, opposite signs. Two opposite signs against blue sky background.

I haven’t blogged in a long time.

I just didn’t have anything I had to say, plus life has been really busy for me since early in the summer…but I know I’m not alone.

Life is really busy right now for most everybody I know. I took some time today to evaluate my daily schedule to make sure that I’m making the most of my time each day. I find myself reacting too much. I want to be more proactive. Here’s a brief analysis of the differences between proactive and reactive behavior. I picked this up at a seminar a couple of years ago. I’ve added a few points.

 

Proactive Behavior                                        Reactive Behavior  
Goes the extra mile                                         Does the minimum
Exceeds expectations                                     Meets expectations
Takes calculated risks                                     Risk Adverse
Listens                                                             Talks
Independent thinker                                        Needs to be told
Anticipates problems                                      Solves problems
Seeks new solutions                                       Relies on status quo
Questions/Challenges                                     Assumes
Multi-functioning thinking                               Focuses only on “my job”
Goals                                                              To-do lists
Takes Breaks                                                  Breaks Down
Owns Life                                                       Owned by Life
“Want to.”                                                      “Have to.”
Value Planning (i.e. Plans around Values)      Doesn’t Value Planning

©2015 Arron Chambers

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

