Devoted Discipleship for New Believers–Free!

November 4, 2014 — Leave a comment

devoted cover

My book Devoted was released by Navpress and Tyndale Publishing House in September and it’s been exciting to see God already using this simple book to begin to raise up a generation of Christians who love Jesus more. Stories are coming in from around the country from Devotees who are falling more in love with Jesus.

I love this note I got from a girl named Amber:

“I have to say I am more in love now with Jesus than I have ever been. My heart is more full if joy than ever, and I’m so excited to continue to grow! :)” –Amber

And this note I received from Dave Stone, Southeast Christian Church in Louisville, Kentucky:

“Arron Chambers has done it again.  His writings always teach me truth, hold my attention and challenge me to become more intentional about my relationship with Jesus Christ.    Arron Chambers loves Jesus and Arron helps me to know and love Jesus more.” –Dave Stone, pastor, Southeast Christian Church, Louisville, KY

And this note from Dr. Leonard Sweet:

“In a world of 1-calorie Christianity and diet discipleship, Arron Chambers issues a clarion call for ‘devotees,’ disciples utterly devoted to Jesus. Without this dazzling gem of a book, I never would have properly understood my vocation as devotion.Leonard Sweet, best-selling author, professor (Drew University, George Fox University), and chief contributor to sermons.com

And this note from my 11-year-old daughter:

“Please buy my Dad’s book. I really want him to be able to pay for my college tuition in the future.”–Payton Chambers

Being a disciple of Jesus is an issue of devotion rather than duty. Before Peter began–arguably the most important act of discipleship—Jesus didn’t ask him, “How many chapters of the Torah did you read today?” or “Are you attending services at the synagogue each week?” or “Did you give your tithe today?” No, before Peter began his journey of discipleship, Jesus asked him, “Do you love Me?”

I think that we are asking new disciples of Christ the wrong questions and that it’s time to start truly following the example of Christ by asking of disciples what Christ asked of Peter: devotion, not duty. In Devoted, I present a new paradigm for discipleship: falling in love with Jesus. This approach to discipleship emphasizes passion for Jesus as opposed to a plan for following Jesus.

Which is why I’m so excited to be able to finally share the 40-Day Devoted Church-Wide Experience with you!

The 40-Day Devoted Church-Wide Experience is a FREE resource I’m providing on my website: www.DevotedDiscipleship.com.  On http://www.DevotedDiscipleship.com you’ll find sermons for each week of the 40-Day Church-Wide Experience, small group studies for each week, video introductions for each sermon, video introductions for each small group study, personal videos for each day of the 40-Day Devoted Experience in the back of my book, and much, much, more.

And it’s all FREE!

My book and this 40-Day Devoted Church-Wide Experience are designed to help new believers–and mature believers–fall more in love with Jesus by introducing them to what it means to be in a loving relationship with Jesus.

Devoted is also written to serve as a sort of theological primer—leading you through some key theological issues.

Introduction: Just Love . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . God

1 .  Waiting: True Love Waits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Meditation

2 .  Trusting: Of Dependency and Dynamite . . . . . . . . . . . The Holy Spirit

3 .  Seeing: Love at First Sight . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Jesus

4 .  Speaking: The Right to Not Remain Silent . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Gospel

5 .  Learning: “A Mind is a Terrible Thing to Waste” . . . . . . . . . Doctrine

6 .  Sharing: On Pound-Cake-Filled Purses . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Community

7 .  Remembering: The Descanso at Mile Marker 38 . . . . .Lord’s Supper

8 .  Praying: I Pledge Allegiance . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Prayer

9 .  Believing: Leap! . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Faith

10 .  Sacrificing: “Or, Buy Myself a Car!” . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Stewardship

11 .  Enjoying: Waist-Deep in Unexpected Joy . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Joy

12 .  Praising: 6 Nickels and 3 Dimes’ Worth of Worship . . . . . . Worship

13 .  Growing: The Magic Pill . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Spiritual Growth

The FREE 40-Day Devoted Church-Wide Experience is an excellent resource for anyone interested in raising up a generation of believers who are more devoted to Jesus.

I hope you’ll help me spread the word about this free resource.

For more information, click here: The FREE 40-Day Devoted Church-Wide Experience

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

