Dad’s Whistle

October 21, 2014 — 3 Comments

whistle

Recently I heard a Dad whistle for his kids and it brought back memories of my childhood and thoughts on God.

Good memories.

Now, I know that whistling for your kids may not be done very often these days but for my Dad–who grew up on a farm–it was an effective way of “communication.”

My Dad used his whistle to connect with us and communicate with us. If he wanted us he would whistle and we’d come running. Often, I would run up to him, out of breath, only to find out he hadn’t whistled, which he found to be quite endearing.

As I reflect, there were several significant things about Dad’s whistle:

  1. Dad’s whistle was always loud and strong and always for an important reason.
  2. If we couldn’t hear Dad’s whistle we were too far from home.
  3. When we heard that whistle we better come home quickly.
  4. If we chose to ignore the signal there would be consequences to our actions.

God doesn’t want us to be devoured by sin, so He will “whistle” for us through His word, His Holy Spirit, other Saints, and a myriad of other ways.

As I reflect, there are several significant things about God’s “whistles”:

  1. God’s warnings are always loud and strong and always for an important reason.
  2. If we don’t sense God’s presence in our lives then maybe we’re too far from home.
  3. If we think God is calling then we better come home quickly.
  4. If we choose to ignore God’s warning there would be consequences to our actions.

And, if we run into His presence, out of breath, only to find out He hadn’t whistled, I bet He finds that to be quite endearing, too.

©2014 Arron Chambers

3 responses to Dad’s Whistle

  1. 

    Boy does that bring back memories to me Arron.my dad use the whippoorwill whistle when he would bring us home. That seems such a long time ago now. Thanks for the memories, I sure do need that right now. I so did love my daddy(he was such a GOOD CHRISTIAN). Why he was taken from us, when I was so young? I was 9 my brother 6 he barley remebers him, NOT ME I ADORED MY DADDY,!! Love you my friend, Arron

  2. 

    My dad called my name, and it had the same meanings and the same consequences. This was a great reminder to keep my ear turned heavenward to hear God’s “whistles” and reminders. Great post, Arron! (via Michael Hyatt’s FB post!)

Leave a Reply

