Just thinking about Dad and Heaven

August 8, 2014 — 2 Comments

It’s been 26 years today since my Dad died.

My sitting next to Dad circa 1975

Me sitting next to Dad circa 1975

I miss him, so much.

My oldest daughter just got married.

I can’t tell you how many times this summer I’ve longed for my Dad’s advice.

If I could just have 30 minutes with my Dad . . .

but that will have to wait.

The older I get the more real Heaven becomes.

As a child it was a place with a lot of clouds and harps, but with each year that passes on this side of eternity it becomes a place with a lot of my friends and family.

This morning I stumbled across this video of David Phelps singing, No More Night. This song is special to me and my family. Our dear friend Tony Buchanan sang this song at my Dad’s memorial service. Actually, Tony started the song, but–overcome by emotion–couldn’t finish it, so my sister Leigh-Angela jumped up, stood next to Tony and they finished it together.

It reminded me of why Heaven is going to be worth it.

No more night.
No more pain.
No more tears.
Never crying again.
Praises to the great I Am.
We will live in the light of the risen Lamb.

And remember, it’s not a dream; God WILL make all things new one day.

Miss you Dad!

 

2 responses to Just thinking about Dad and Heaven

  1. 

    Your dad was an amazing man and one of the first REAL Christian thinkers I had met. I’m sure that he is proud of you especially because you do not stand in his shadow: “We live in the light of the risen Lamb.”

  2. 

    I think about your dad every year on August 8th. He was a tremendous teacher. Often I find myself repeating his wise words, “well, Dr. Chambers used to say…….” And of course who can forget “stick…..map!”

Leave a Reply

