Putting the “Miss” in “Mistake”

April 23, 2013 — 6 Comments

Missthemarkblog-1

I’ve been on a good run recently of making bad mistakes.

In the past week…

I’ve been insensitive.

I’ve been selfish.

I’ve been a jerk.

I’ve missed the mark by missing opportunities to do things well.

Let me give you a few of the highlights, or lowlights…depending on your perspective, of how I “missed the mark” and put the “Miss” in “Mistake.”

  • I sent an angry email without waiting 24 hours to ensure that, sending the email, was really a good idea and the wise thing to do. It wasn’t.
  • I assumed something about somebody that wasn’t true.
  • I used the “pulpit” of my church as a “bully pulpit” to say something to a group of people that would have been better said to them one-on-one and face-to-face, or not said at all.
  • I forgot that my ministry is not all about me.
  • I took someone’s differing opinion as a personal attack.
  • I forgot the importance of seeking to understand before seeking to be understood.
  • I shared a disagreement I had with a decision by one of my teammates publicly (in a meeting) without first sharing it with him privately.
  • I made a joke at someone else’s expense.
  • I didn’t respond to an email request in a timely manner because I was “too busy to deal with it now” and missed an opportunity to bless someone else.
  • Someone made a significant personal sacrifice for me and I neglected to thank him in a timely manner.
  • While someone was speaking with me, I allowed myself to be distracted by someone over his shoulder, and abruptly cut the conversation short to go across the room and talk to the other person. That was so rude.
  • My son asked me to pray with him before he went to sleep, I said, “I’m on my way” but went on to check a few more emails and, by the time I made it downstairs, he was already asleep. I’m so sorry, Sylas.
  • I left a huge mess in the floor of our bedroom and just expected my wife to clean it up…as if that was her job…which it isn’t.  Sorry Babe. I forgot that we’re a team.
  • I’m sitting here writing this blog post while my wife is in the kitchen making school lunches for all the kids. What am I doing?!? The irony of this situation is suffocating! I’ll be back! (She was done, so I shoveled the snow off the driveway, so I think we’re cool.  Cool…get it? No, you don’t live in Colorado, so I’m sure you don’t “get” being cool in late April.) 🙂
  • Someone invited me, by email, to join their professional network on LinkedIn and I put their email request in the trash file.

Actually, that last one is one of the few things I did right in the past week.

6 responses to Putting the “Miss” in “Mistake”

  1. 
    jayrobhearthrob April 23, 2013 at 6:41 am

    I lol’d at the LinkedIn bit. Man, I can’t stand those incessant emails… 😉

  2. 

    What a great list…it is also nice to know that I am not alone. Thank YOU!!!

  3. 

    Mistakes are always forgivable, if one has the courage to admit them. -Bruce Lee

Leave a Reply

