A Poem For My Daughter

August 27, 2012 — 8 Comments

On Saturday, I left my daughter Ashton at Florida Christian College for her first year of college.

On Saturday morning, I woke up and wrote this poem for her.

For My Daughter On Her Way To School
by Arron Chambers

Today I leave my daughter

at a college far away.

And my thoughts keep going back

to a not dissimilar day.

 

Our bags are packed and ready,

For our trip away from here,

But my heart was unprepared,

For my girl not being near.

 

We were in this town, this very town,

Roughly, eighteen years ago,

When we walked our little girl to school,

How we wanted to take it slow.

 

But her bag was packed and ready,

For her trip to Miss Stoops’ class,

I watched her and I wondered,

“Why does she want to walk to school so fast?”

 

“Doesn’t she know she’s leaving us,

And things will never be the same?”

“Doesn’t she know this day will cause,

Her Mom and I great pain?”

 

Of course she didn’t know these things,

We didn’t want her too.

We just wanted her to do the things,

She was made to do.

 

She belongs to Him, she was never ours

To raise for our hopes and dreams.

She’s God’s little girl, for His glory alone

To do for Him great things.

 

As we walked to school that September day,

We hovered very near,

Worried that our little girl,

Might stumble over fear.

 

But confident and boldly,

She walked along the way,

Fearlessly moving forward,

To an exciting, brand new day.

 

As we neared the school,

She asked us something that paused us in our steps,

A wondering that we immediately knew,

Would serve her well on any quest.

 

She asked, “Mom and Dad,

Can you linger, just a bit behind,

So I can walk all by myself,

If only in my mind?”

 

“Of course we will slow down a bit,

And let you walk ahead,”

Both our hearts and eyes filled up,

At what she just had said.

 

“We’ll let you walk ahead right now,

Please know it’ll be ok.

Because we’re here, you’re not alone.

As you walk to school today.”

 

“Walk boldly to your future,” we said.

“Feel free to bravely roam.

Because your loved by Mom & Dad.

You’ll never walk alone.”

 

Even though she walked only a few steps ahead,

She soared before our eyes.

With a strength of will that,until that day,

We hadn’t fully recognized.

 

Today I leave you Ashton,

at a college far away.

But I know that you are ready,

For this exciting, brand new, day.

 

Our bags are packed and ready,

For our flight away from here,

But know our hearts remain with you,

We’ll always be right here.

 

You belong to God, You were never ours,

Fulfill God’s hope and dreams.

You’re God’s little girl, for His glory alone,

Now, do for Him great things.

 

As we let you walk ahead right now,

Please know it’ll be ok.

Because with Him, you’re not alone.

As you go to school today.

 

Walk boldly to your future.

Feel free to bravely roam.

Because your loved by God above.

You’ll never walk alone.

 

© 2012 by Arron Chambers

8 responses to A Poem For My Daughter

  1. 

    As a mom who for the first time recently
    Experienced the kindergarten drop off with an independent little girl thanks for the reminder! Beautiful!

  2. 

    I love this Arron.

  3. 

    Aaron,

    Absolutely beautiful, what a blessing for a daughter to receive something so beautiful from her Dad.
    The light of our Lord is certainly in plain view to those who know you, you definitely reflect His light in this dark world.

    Blessings to your family, and congrats for you and your wife doing such a wonderful job.

  4. 

    Very well put Arron! God has amazing things in store for Ashton, Tara, Cassie, and Brooke! I could read this daily!

Leave a Reply

