Week of Prayer and Fasting: Day Four

September 1, 2011 — Leave a comment

Romans 8:26-28

English Standard Version (ESV)

26Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. 27And he who searches hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God. 28And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.

I’ve been there and I’m sure you have too.

In the hospital room with a family who is saying goodbye to a loved one much too soon.

At the dinner table with a family whose teen-aged child has just tried to kill herself.

In the waiting room with a father who was just told that he would be burying a third child in a year.

On the plane from Wyoming to Florida trying to process my Dad’s death and wondering what to say to my Mom when I finally got home.

At the bedside of my kids for prayers on the evening of 9/11.

I’ve been in those situations where I knew I needed to pray but I didn’t know what to say.

When groans replaced words.

On those occasions, when my head knows that “all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose” but my heart is confused, I’m grateful that the Holy Spirit intercedes to the Father for me.

Because decades of walking with the Lord have taught me it’s true: “all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose” and I’d hate to ever communicate anything other than that, so–to my heavenly Father through the intercession of the Holy Spirit–I will simply say, “I praise you Lord.”

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

