Week of Prayer and Fasting: Day One

August 29, 2011 — Leave a comment

This week, our entire congregation is going through a week of prayer and fasting as we seek God’s will for our church, our community, and our individual lives.

The congregation is reading through Romans 8 this week.

Today we read Romans 8:3-9.

Here are some devotional thoughts on this passage.

Romans 8:3-9

English Standard Version (ESV)

3For God has done what the law, weakened by the flesh, could not do. By sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh and for sin, he condemned sin in the flesh, 4in order that the righteous requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us, who walk not according to the flesh but according to the Spirit. 5For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit set their minds on the things of the Spirit. 6For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace. 7For the mind that is set on the flesh is hostile to God, for it does not submit to God’s law; indeed, it cannot. 8Those who are in the flesh cannot please God.

9You, however, are not in the flesh but in the Spirit, if in fact the Spirit of God dwells in you. Anyone who does not have the Spirit of Christ does not belong to him.

What desires drive you through the day?

My love for coffee drives me to Starbucks for a Grande Cinnamon Dulce White Chocolate Mocha.

My desire to fight the aging process drives me to the gym to exercise or to the road for a run.

My hunger drives me to Randy’s Diner for fried spicy pickles.

My love for my kids drives me to drive them to school and to their sports practices.

My love for my wife drives me to keep the cat.

In this passage Paul urges his readers to be driven through each day, not by the desires of the flesh, but by the Holy Spirit.

What can we do today to be more driven by the Holy Spirit than by the flesh?

1)   Let our love for God drive us to the Word.  Open your Bible and you’re really opening your spiritual ears to the voice of God.  Listen to what He has to say and then live what He said and you’ll find yourself walking in step with the Spirit.

2)   Let our love for God drive us to a quiet place where we can be still and know that He is God (Psalm 46:10).  We are so addicted to noise.  If you don’t agree, turn off your iPod, cell phone, radio, etc., and make your environment as quiet as possible.  How do you feel?  Are you uncomfortable?  Too many of us are uncomfortable with silence but it is in the silence where God speaks loudest.

3)   Let our love for God drive us away from temptation (i.e. deeds of the flesh).

4)   Let our love for God drive us into an accountability and discipling relationship with another Christian.  In my experience, God has guided me through the wisdom and guidance of other Christians away from poor decisions and in the right direction on many occasions.

5)   Let our love for God drive us to pray, “Lord, through your Holy Spirit, guide me today to somebody who needs to experience your love.”

In verse 8 of this passage Paul says that “Those who are in the flesh cannot please God.”  I want to please God, so I’m going to let the Holy Spirit drive me through this day.

I can’t wait to see where this drive takes me today.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

