The Rock That Is Higher Than I

July 28, 2011 — Leave a comment

My Father-in-Law delivered a sermon last Sunday in which he referenced the following passage:

Psalm 61:1-3

 1Hear my cry, O God,
listen to my prayer;
2from the end of the earth I call to you
when my heart is faint.
Lead me to the rock
that is higher than I,
3for you have been my refuge,
a strong tower against the enemy.

This verse wasn’t the focus of his sermon, but when he mentioned the “rock that is higher than I” I started to think and wonder to myself, “Why would a ‘high’ rock be desirable?”

Here’s what I came up with:

Protection–As David notes, a high rock can be a refuge from our enemies.  A life lived on Christ is a life protected.

Perspective–Anyone who has ever seen the world from a higher perspective knows that a high rock can help one to see things in a whole new way. Living life on Christ provides a life-saving perspective.

Power–Those who hold the high ground in a military conflict hold a lot of power.  One can try the impossible task of dethroning the King of the Mountain or stand alongside the King of the Mountain and know the power of realized victory.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

