In Honor of the Westboro Protest of the NACC

July 7, 2011 — 10 Comments

Just read that the crazies from the Westboro Baptist Church are protesting the North American Christian Convention and I’m kind of proud.  Why?

If those hateful people are opposed to what we in the Christian Churches are doing, then we must be doing something right.

That being said, in honor of Westboro’s protest and my desire for them to “please just stop the hating,” I’d like to play them this special song by my new favorite band Gungor.

btw…if, after hearing this song, you find yourself concerned about my view of God, truth, sin, “sinners”, and my salvation, I’d encourage you to give me the benefit of the doubt, listen to my recent sermon on Truth from May 15th (Click Here: Truth),  and read two things before jumping to any conclusions: My book Eats with Sinners and 1 John 3, 4.

10 responses to In Honor of the Westboro Protest of the NACC

  1. 

    I heard one of the speakers mention the protest this morning. I don’t understand the Westboro people at all. Loved the Gungor video.

  2. 

    Loved the video. Such good thoughts but so true. You are so blessed with clear and rational thinking. Thanks.

  3. 

    Crazies… really… crazies.
    Now Westboro Baptist Church is cultic, misguided, ill-informed, hateful and just plain wrong about God and the Bible! But they are humans created in God’s image, and they are human, that rightly so, on purpose provoke a bad reaction in people they encounter. However, outside of the street corners, they appear quite normal, just with extremely obnoxious beliefs.

    Calling them crazies falls into the same trap and philosophy they espouse.
    Check out this link

    Alan

    • 

      I know it’s not PC, but I meant what I said.
      So…yes…crazies.
      I don’t hate the Westboro folks, but I think their version of Christianity is warped…crazy.
      Unlike so many of us, Jesus didn’t hesitate to call people out for their warped version of faith.
      Here are some examples of what I’m referring to:
      Matthew 23
      13″But woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites!
      16″Woe to you, blind guides
      17You blind fools!
      24You blind guides,
      27 “Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you are like whitewashed tombs, which outwardly appear beautiful, but within are full of dead people’s bones and all uncleanness.
      33You serpents, you brood of vipers, how are you to escape being sentenced to hell?
      Alan, do you think less of Jesus because he called the Pharisees “blind fools”?
      I don’t.
      Do you understand that–in Jesus’ day–calling someone a “fool” was a lot more serious than calling someone “crazy”?
      I’m sure you know that Jesus loved “sinners” and was never mean to “sinners” but reserved his most severe criticism for “religious” people who claimed to be followers of God, but whose lives were not consistent with Scripture.
      I believe the Westboro people fall into the latter category. They should know better.
      No, I don’t regret calling them “crazies,” but I do regret not calling them “blind fools” too because that’s what they are.

  4. 

    Sorry can’t post the link — Search for “the most hated family in America.” Documentary

  5. 

    Best video I’ve seen in months. Thanks for sharing.

  6. 

    I don’t totally disagree, however, Jesus called the Pharisees, scribes, and Sadducee’s what he did because they “knew” it all as religious experts. the Pharisees et.al. knew exactly what they were doing.

    The WB folks are blinded and deluded by Satan…WB does know what they are doing to an extent, but I see them more for publicity and money, not for any manner of repentance or salvation… I’m sure their version of salvation is become like me… not become like Jesus — and I’m not even sure they can or would recognize Christ-like actions like they received at NACC, which was Love and prayer.

    The video is interesting because it was done by a gay filmmaker who let WB know his relationships. It is interesting how they treated him in their midst.

    • 

      I’ll check the video out. Thanks for sharing your perspective. You sound like someone with whom I’d like to have some coffee. :

  7. 

    The other objection I have is by calling them names, we dehumanize people.
    World War II – Krauts & Japs; Vietnam – gooks, Gomers,

    In other words, it is them versus us, and of course we’re right. 😉

Leave a Reply

