The Six Degrees of Bob Russell

June 21, 2011 — 14 Comments

It was the perfect storm.

On Sunday, I was in the Detroit Airport waiting for my connecting flight to Huntington to speak this week at Summer in the Son in Kentucky, when a nice older lady and I struck up a conversation.  I found out that she was from Jacksonville, by way of Louisville and that–while in Louisville–she had attended Southeast Christian Church.  She said she knew Dave Stone and Bob Russell.  I know them too.  Small world.

Well, flash forward–or backward depending on your perspective–to lunch yesterday at SITS.

I was sitting with a table of High School boys from Pittsburgh and we were talking about movies.  I told them that I had seen Super 8, but that I wanted to see Xmen, too.  They told me that it was good and that Kevin Bacon is in it.

Kevin Bacon!

He’s in everything!

Instantly, the boys’ youth minister and I broke into the Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon game.

The boys thought we were crazy.

Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon is a trivia game based on the concept of the small world phenomenon and rests on the assumption that any individual can be linked through his or her film roles to actor Kevin Bacon within six steps. The name of the game is a play on the “six degrees of separation” concept. (Wikipedia)

Well, as I was walking back to my dorm my mind started to drift from Kevin Bacon to his equivalent in the Restoration Movement and I remembered my conversation with that nice woman in the Detroit International Airport about Bob Russell.

The perfect storm!

My crazy mind landed on Bob Russell as I started to wonder how many people in the Christian Churches can link themselves to Bob Russell through professional connections (people who have worked with him).  I bet you that most people in the Christian Churches are connected to Bob Russell within six degrees of separation.

I’m only separated from Bob by two degrees in two different scenarios.

1) Me–My Dad, Roger Chambers–who played basketball with Bob at CBC, which I would count as “working” with Bob Russell.

2) Me–Jim Burgen (with whom I’m working this week at SITS)–who worked with Bob at Southeast Christian Church.

So, in both of the aforementioned scenarios, my Russell Number is ‘2″

How many degrees of separation are there between you and Bob Russell?  What’s your score? Is there anyone in the Christian Churches who is not connected to Bob Russell within Six Degrees of Separation? If so, we’re looking for you. 🙂

You know you’re dying to play. 🙂

If you’d like to play Six Degrees of Bob Russell, leave your degrees of separation and Russell Number in the comments section.

14 responses to The Six Degrees of Bob Russell

  1. 

    When I worked at FCC I had Todd Clark speak at Impact. Todd worked at Southeast under Bob Russell

  2. 
    Stephany Jenkins June 21, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    I suppose since I know you I must be 3 degrees from Bob Russell but just fyi….I am only 2 degrees from Kevin Bacon!

    Have a Great time at Summer in the Son!!!

  3. 

    ok . . .Me – My Dad – My dad was roommates with Kerry Allen at Bluefield, who worked with Dean Mills at Person to Person, who worked with your Dad, who worked with Bob Russell . . . So I guess my number is 5, unless you take my dad out of the equation, since I work with Kerry, now, too . . .

  4. 

    Me – good friend Matt McGuire from college who I interned w/ in Indianapolis – he spent two years working as an intern at Southeast. So 2!

    There are also the numerous professors at CCU who taught me as well as worked with Bob at some point…though i guess That’s more like a 2 1/2.

    Bob really is the best equivelent for the “six degrees” game!

  5. 

    This is very funny. Love it. FYI – my son Seth is working on the tech crew with Don Smith at SITS. Let me know if he steps outta line. 😉

  6. 
    David McCrickard June 21, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    This one is especially fun….My dad had classes with Bob Russell at Cincinnati (I guess you could call that working together), and was in the dorm with your dad, Roger, and we were roommates in college. Is that like a degree of separation within a degree of separation?

  7. 

    I am the worship minister at Bright Christian Church where Jeff Stone is the Senior Minister. Jeff is Dave Stone’s brother, who served with Bob. I guess I’m a 3.

  8. 
    Marty Anderson June 21, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    Best year ever, I was Bob’s intern 2003-2004. So, one. Love this game though.

  9. 

    Bob Russell was my wife’s minister at Monterey Christian Church in Owensville, Ohio, his ministry before going to Southeast. That was long before I knew her or Bob, but she is my first connection to him.

  10. 

    My grandfather was an elder at Southeast when Bob was brought there. I make that two degrees.

    Bob preached the funeral service for both my grandfather and grandmother. Both of those would be at two degrees.

    I was a camper at White Mills Christian Assembly in KY with Bob Russell as a faculty member. He called a guy safe at home in a softball game when I know I made the out! Maybe I could count that as one degree!

    Fun game, Arron!

  11. 

    Bob Russel is the preacher at Southeast Christian Church, Michael W. Smith recorded a live album at Southeast Christian Church, Michael W. Smith was in the movie The Second Chance with J. Don Ferguson who was also in The Long Riders with James Remar who was in X-Men First Class with KEVIN BACON!

  12. 

    Bob Russel is my first cousin once removed through my Dad. Is that one step, or two? That’s fun.

Leave a Reply

