Questions Francis Chan Asks Himself Before He Speaks

April 27, 2011 — 4 Comments
From Exponential 2011 in Orlando.
Here are the questions Francis Chan asks himself before he speaks anywhere.
  1. Am I worried about what people think or what God thinks?
  2. Do I genuinely love these people?
  3. Am I accurately presenting this passage?
  4. Am I depending on the Holy Spirit’s power or my own cleverness?
  5. Am I applying this message to my own life?
  6. Will this message draw attention to me or to God?
  7. Do the people really need this message?
4 responses to Questions Francis Chan Asks Himself Before He Speaks

  1. 

    Aaron…
    Come on dude…trying to rip me off or what? I just said this wasn’t gonna be recorded. You’re killing my book deal.
    P.s. this is probably really Francis, and not some dude looking over your shoulder as you update your blog on your laptop.

  2. 

    Yay! Francis’ website is run on Lighttpd! On an Ubuntu server! (I would probably use FreeBSD, but that’s just me nerdin’ out.)
    Now go create a website!
    🙂
    #2 always gives me pause. I ask myself the followup question: “how can I know?” and James convicts me. James the Book in the Bible and James the Gravy. Sometimes its James the Gravy using James the Book in the Bible.

    And that is what you call a plate full of awesome!

Leave a Reply

