Church Size Matrix

April 6, 2011 — 5 Comments

I’ve been devouring an upcoming issue of The Christian Standard on megachurches (April 10/17, 2011).

I especially liked a chart produced by Kent E. Fillinger that details some of the key differences between churches of different sizes.

I’ve worked with all types of churches, except the “Gigachurch,” and I think this chart is accurate.

As the Lead Minister of a church that has grown from a small church to a large church over the past few years, I’d like to make a couple of observations.

  • Transitioning from a small church to a medium-sized church is a very difficult–if not the most difficult–move for many reasons–not the least of which is that it requires both the foundational or core members and the Preacher to let loose of control and let others lead.
  • If the “family/relational” orientation becomes the ultimate goal, church growth will be seriously hindered.
  • The Lead Minister must grow ahead of the church.  I had to learn to be a better administrator while still serving a church that needed me to be more of a Pastor/shepherd.  Now that we’ve grown way past 500, I’m trying to learn how to be a better Leader/Teacher.
  • Elders need to be trained to lead in a growing church.  Business leadership does not always translate well into the church-leadership world.  If your church is growing, the elders need to be given opportunities to grow along with it or they can become, or create, obstacles that hinder growth.
  • Serving in a Transitional culture is a lot more fun than serving in a Traditional/static culture.  I’m just saying. 🙂
5 responses to Church Size Matrix

  1. 

    I’ll be interested to read this issue.

  2. 

    Transitioning requires one to become comfortable with constant change which means constantly stretching beyond your comfort zone. That is hard work. Help!

  3. 

    Aaron –

    I stumbled across your blog by accident, and you have some great stuff! 🙂 Would love to have you join our Facebook page Christian Bloggers Network: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Christian-Bloggers-Network/168345543187741

    God Bless!

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Becoming a Better Leader « My Lord and My Blog - April 13, 2011

    […] My Lord and My Blog A Christian Standard Blog by Arron Chambers « Church Size Matrix […]

Leave a Reply

