Questions on Hell

March 30, 2011 — 14 Comments

I’m reading Rob Bell’s book Love Wins and have decided to not just review the book here (in a few days) but also to preach about Hell at Journey after Easter.

With that in mind, I’m interested in hearing what kind of questions you might have about Hell.  Reply with your questions and I’ll pick the most common questions and answer them in my sermon after Easter.

14 responses to Questions on Hell

  1. 

    If hell is where we are completely separated from God, and Christ is divine, then how was Christ able to descend into Hell?

  2. 

    If someone that doesn’t know Christ commits suicide will they go to hell?

  3. 

    Is hell somewhere near Gila Bend Arizona?

  4. 
    Jerran Jackson March 30, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Is hell forever? The main speaker for last year’s Stone Campbell Conference at CCU mentioned in private conversation that the college agers with whom he works are natural universalists. They believe everybody gets to heaven eventually. They may have to go through hell for a little while, but when their sins are atoned for by their punishment, they get to leave hell and enter heaven. May God bless you as you speak for Him.

  5. 
    Michael W. Lum March 30, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    Hi Aaron! Interesting subject…one of the last books I read was by F. LaGard Smith on Life After Death. His view (pretty convincing study) indicates that Hell is when God extinguishes the souls of those who have rejected him after His Judgement Day. IE: “Fear not him who destroys the body, but fear Him who destroys both body and soul..” Might take a glance at it if you have time.

  6. 
    Patrick Lightfoot March 30, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    Will Cats, Candy Land, the stair climber at gym, frogs, DMV line, and wnba all be in Hell?

  7. 
    Thomas waggoner April 2, 2011 at 9:05 am

    Hell, truthfully how bad? We run our entire lives, as if on a treadmill, afraid to burn. None seem to rally even know if it is real, universilist make it seem as if Hell is just a slap on the wrist. So people hope off the treadmill to “experience life”, sense the punishment is not so bad. Or is it? Hell how BAD? How REAL?

  8. 

    Aaron,

    Agreed that Universalism in all its forms, is not supported by Scripture. I wonder if your view is the orthodox idea of unending torture, or if you hold to the “conditionalist” position that teaches the lost will be punished according to their sins and then, eventually, die in the flames?

    Either way, how do you define “perish” in Jn. 3:16?

    Mike

  9. 

    The funny thing is that whatever is true about hell is true regardless of what we believe or why we believe it.

  10. 

    Jerran,
    That sounds about right for us Seminarians! Most of my fellow students (and me) really like Rob Bell’s new book.

  11. 

    Arron,
    Could you please send me the book after you read it? I refuse to buy one simply because I refuse to financially support RB’s heretical statements. Sad is the impact he is having on the church, particularly and especially the next generation.

  12. 

    My cousin killed herself a week ago. I want to know if she can be forgiven? I’m scared that she is lost in a Hell on earth not living but with the living. Can we help her and save her?

    • 

      Was she a Christian? If so, I don’t believe a moment of weakness or mental illness negates a life of faithfulness. I’m not God and His will will prevail.
      Saying that suicide sends a Christian to Hell seems to me to be like saying that because I told a lie the moment before I get hit by a train–and didn’t have time to repent–I’m going to Hell. Now, I also don’t want to make light of suicide. Suicide is a sin. It’s wrong. It’s self-murder.

Leave a Reply

