Undercover Boss

December 22, 2010 — 3 Comments

Recently I’ve started watching the TV show Undercover Boss and I really like it.

Each week, UNDERCOVER BOSS follows a different executive as they leave the comfort of their corner office for an undercover mission to examine the inner workings of their companies.  While working alongside their employees, they see the effects that their decisions have on others, where the problems lie within their organizations and get an up-close look at both the good and the bad while discovering the unsung heroes who make their companies run.

I almost always cry at the end of the show and I just figured out why.  I cry at the end of the show because I see the power of the Gospel in the show.

Think about it…the lives of ordinary people are blessed because their boss comes to live and work beside them and–in doing so–he connects with them, shares their struggles, feels their pain, and then uses his power to transform their lives.

It’s what Christmas is all about.  Through Jesus, God came to Earth to connect with us, to share our struggles, feel our pain, and then transform our lives through His power.

Two things…

First, this Christmas let’s be sure to remember how our lives were changed because God became one of us when He came to Earth as a baby boy.

Second–and this is specifically for leaders–let’s resolve to humble ourselves and intentionally bless the lives of people who work for us. With little effort we can enter their worlds, share their struggles, feel their pain, and use our limited power to transform their lives.

I want to be that kind of leader.

I want to be that humble.

I want to be used by God to transform the lives of the people with whom I serve.

Just thinking about the possibilities makes my eyes fill up with tears.

3 responses to Undercover Boss

  1. 

    Good stuff my friend. You just get better and better!

  2. 

    Very powerful thought to know, not believe, but know, that our leader has walked our walk. Nothing more depressing to have a leader that doesn’t understand our struggles. Excellent analogy.

    And, me too. Kinda reminds me of the statement, You can’t be a leader, if you have no followers.

Leave a Reply

