Of Beliefs, Korans, “Ground-Zero” Mosques, and Rights and Wrongs

September 9, 2010 — 10 Comments

OK….I have to say something.

I believe that the Bible is God’s true, inspired, and inerrant word.

I believe that the Koran is just a book and not God’s word.

I believe that Terry Jones’ idea of burning the Koran this Saturday is wrong, reckless, and risks endangering the lives of some of our brave men  and women who are serving our country around the world by enraging elements of radical Islam.

I believe he has the right to burn the Koran, but…just because you have the right to do something doesn’t mean that it’s the right thing to do.

I believe that building a mosque at Ground Zero is wrong, reckless, and risks provoking more pain, resentment, and anger in the hearts of people who blame radical Islam for the events on 9/11.

I believe that the imam who wants to build a Mosque at Ground Zero has the right to build a mosque there, but….just because you have the right to do something doesn’t mean that it’s the right thing to do.

Oh, one more thing that doesn’t fit nicely into this post, but I need to say it just so it’s off my chest….And I believe that the preacher, leaders, and members of the New Beginnings Church in Warsaw, Ohio need to set their hatred aside and eat with some strippers!

10 responses to Of Beliefs, Korans, “Ground-Zero” Mosques, and Rights and Wrongs

  1. 

    Thanks for posting this, Arron! This has been weighing heavily on my heart this week. I’m glad you said something.

  2. 

    I think Christians need to put down their protest signs and internet rants and instead sit down and eat with Muslims – I know I have been trying to do so recently, and it has changed my attitude towards them as much as it has changed their views of Christians.

  3. 

    Hey Arron! I have come across these views many a time. However, I think that the community center is much different from burning their religious book, which is hateful and shameful. The center is at the heart of a very large muslim-american population in NYC. The video, you probably saw (http://www.cordobainitiative.org/), demonstrates the idea that the muslims in america who oppose radical islam/terrorism were also hurt by 9/11 attacks. They are clearly separating themselves from that, making a stand that firmly establishes them as anti-terrorism. If a radical Christian group bombed an organization (has been done in the US), nobody would prevent another group of Christians from trying to establish positive relations with the community after the fact. I feel that opposing the establishment of the center is like telling Muslims they are not valued as people, and linking them directly to the 9/11 attacks, which is a stigma they have to argue every day of their lives since it happened. I hope Christians can be supportive of their efforts; I know that if it was a Christian organization, I would want people to support peaceful, thoughtful efforts as well.
    Thanks for posting; I think people need to talk about it!

    -Myranda

  4. 

    I agree that all things we have a right to do are not loving or kind. We have the responsibility to love people – even strippers. Check out Bruised Reed website – Southland Christian Church, Lexington, KY.

  5. 

    Why can there only be one word of God? You saying that the Koran is just a book is just as insulting as that idiot in Florida wanting to burn it…

    Do you feel the same way about the Torah? How about the Book of Mormon?

    Narrow-minded Christians continue to fan the flames of hatred… and here I thought Jesus accepted everyone.

    • 

      Dear “Angry Mouth”,
      Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” John 14:6
      To follow Christ is to follow a leader who claimed to be the ONLY way to Heaven. I believe that Jesus is the only Son of God–my Lord and my Savior–so I reject Mohammed, Joseph Smith, and anyone else (and anyone else’s books of “revelation”) as my hope of eternal life.
      Agree or disagree…I’m only being as “narrow-minded” as Jesus.
      I pray you’ll give Him a chance.
      Blessings!

      • 

        I’m not going to quote scripture, but I’m sure that all the religious texts make similar statements and claims to be the only way the heaven/nirvana/etc…

        Don’t believe everything you read.

  6. 

    Don’t believe everything you think. 🙂
    I’ve read other religious texts and what other religious leaders said about themselves and have come to believe that Jesus was–and is–who he claimed to be and that He’s our only hope of salvation.
    I get that you don’t believe that right now. That’s the cool thing about God: He doesn’t force us to believe in Him.
    I just quoted Jesus because you wondered–out loud–if Christ accepts everyone. He does. Jesus accepts everyone who chooses to accept Him as Lord.
    Thanks for this interchange. I appreciate your tone and that you can express your ideas without any unnecessary vitriolic language.

Leave a Reply

