Yes, that’s cheering you’re hearing during offering!

August 24, 2010 — 2 Comments

At Journey we love these verses:

2 Corinthians 9:6,7

6Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. 7Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.

And we take this teaching seriously, so we give joyously.  Very joyously. 🙂

At Journey many people have started cheering when they give their offerings.  Yes, I mean cheering…out loud and joyfully!  It’s one of the coolest things I’ve ever experienced in the Church…ever.  We end out service with an upbeat song and we pass the offering baskets while every one is standing and singing…and cheering.  Men, women, and kids all around the auditorium can be heard cheering out loud at their opportunity to worship God through giving.  It’s unbelievable, very inspiring, and such a blessing to hear each Sunday.

Every week more and more people are cheering as they give their tithes and offerings and I love it!  Every cheer makes me smile and I’m sure it makes the Lord smile too.

I love the people at Journey and I love how the love God.

Here’s what we believe at Journey:

1) God expects us to give.  We don’t apologize for asking people to give some of God’s money back to Him as an act of worship.  I talk boldly about giving because 1) I believe in giving; 2) I’ve experienced incredible joy in giving; and 3) I don’t want to deprive the people of Journey of the opportunity to experience the joy that can only come from giving.

2) God expects us to give sacrificially.

3) God expects us to give joyfully.

So, the next time you drop your offering in the plate, just let out a loud “Woohoo!” & let me know what happens. 😉

Some people may not love–or understand–your expression of joy, but I promise you that God will…because He loves a cheerful giver.

2 responses to Yes, that’s cheering you’re hearing during offering!

  1. 

    I just have to say, I love it. It is amazing and I can see our church doing it too. The people whoop during the sermon so why not at the end. Maybe as Shan’s mother-in-law I should be the first one to make a joyful noise. Journey is truly a blessing and encouragement to all of us who love creative thinking and out-of-the-box worship…yeah to you Journey..I too love all you have become. I love your preacher too!!

  2. 

    As a visitor a few months ago, this part of the service was a huge encouragement to my wife & I and an unmistakable bit of evidence that you guys really do ‘enjoy the journey.’ Your community is better off because of your church’s generosity (which doesn’t stop with a shout and a smile as the offering plate goes around). Salt & Light in action…

Leave a Reply

