Do you feel mighty?

August 19, 2010 — Leave a comment

I had the privilege of being interviewed by Alan Ahlgrim–the lead minister of Rocky Mountain Christian Church–yesterday.  In two weeks, they are kicking off a church-wide study based on my latest book Eats With Sinners and they wanted to interview me on video to introduce the series.

In the process I got to sit in on a taping of Alan’s message for this Sunday entitled, “The Church is not Optional.”

It was a great sermon and it made me start thinking about the benefits of going to church.  How being active with a local church body can make us more mighty.

I came up with this acronym while listening to Alan preach:

M–Maturity

We grow up in Christ as we spend time with His people studying His word and worshiping Him.

I–Identity

We remember who we are in Christ, who we belong to, with whom we serve, and that we are God’s workmanship created to do good works.

G–Growth

Being a part of a local congregation provides many opportunities for us to grow spiritually, emotionally, relationally, financially, and intellectually.

H–Help

Being a part of a local congregation provides resources that will help us follow Christ faithfully.

T–Togetherness

It’s not about you! It’s about the body of Christ.  One of the biggest blessings of being a part of a local congregation is the opportunity it provides to build meaningful relationships with other believers and to work together for the cause of Christ.

Y–Yes! In your spirit.

My dear friend, Mark Tyre, always asks me if I have a “yes” in my spirit.  Having a “yes” in your spirit means that you have complete confidence that God is God, that He’s still on the throne, that He loves us, and that nothing is too difficult for Him.  Being actively involved with a local congregation will put a “yes” in your spirit.

I don’t know about you, but being a part of the local church makes me feel mighty.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

