Greetings from somewhere close to Mt. Hood

August 12, 2010 — Leave a comment

I’m in a Starbucks in Washougal, Washington (with a view of Mt. Hood) catching up on email, checking vmail, and writing a quick blog.  I haven’t had internet access for the past week, which was actually really nice and kind of liberating but I needed to “go to town” this afternoon so I thought I’d hit the closest Starbucks for an iced cinnamon dulce white mocha and get online to take care of some business.

I’m here because I’m speaking at a dynamic youth conference in the hills about 15 miles North of here called New Life Northwest.

The young people at this camp are so refreshing. They love God passionately so the worship services have been unlike anything I’ve experienced at a youth conference before.  Their joy is palpable.  I wish you could be here.

This has been one of the best conferences I’ve ever been a part of.  It’s also nice that my family is with me.  My kids are enjoying playing with their new friends and riding their bikes all over the campground all day long.  It’s been a great week with my family but we’re eager to head back home tomorrow.

I need to get back up to camp, but before I go let me share a bit of exciting news with you:

The race directors of the Silverman (the Ironman-distance race I’m doing in November) wrote an article in their last newsletter about my efforts with Kylee’s Kids. You can read the article by clicking here.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

