A Book to Read & an Album to Buy

July 29, 2010 — Leave a comment

On a recent flight from somewhere to somewhere else, I read A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller.  I was profoundly impacted by the book.

The gist of the book is that our life is a story and God wants us to live a better story.  The book is well-written, full of humor, and convicting.  I put it down and wanted to be a better man of God and I resolved that both my family and I would have a better story.

We’re going to devote 8 weeks this fall at Journey to this theme, Story and challenge our people and our church to live a better story.  With that in mind I’ve asked my staff to read the book and I’m going to read it again while on vacation for the next couple of weeks.

I highly recommend it.

I also want to take a moment and share a post with you from Donald Miller’s blog about Andrew Peterson’s new album, Counting Stars.

Here’s an excerpt from Miller’s post about this album:

These days, musicians are releasing what should be a record of b-sides with one or two decent songs. I don’t blame them. There’s not much of a commercial reason to stick a bunch of hits on one album. But Counting Stars is not such a release. From the first track, I stopped working and turned it up and leaned back in my chair. It felt like a record I’d heard before, something immediately familiar. It’s the record you are searching for for a long night-drive in the country. It will make you want to cut the roof off your car so you can see the stars. And if you’re driving with friends, forget talking. You’ll just feel together.

You can read more here.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

