Michiana Men’s Retreat

May 3, 2010 — Leave a comment

I was blessed to spend last weekend speaking at a men’s retreat at the Michiana Christian Service Camp in Niles, Michigan.  I met some great men of God and was so encouraged by the overall spirit of the men who attended this retreat.

I was especially blessed in working with–and getting to know–Tom Gamble (the Camp Director), Donald Fleischman (Fairland Christian Church), David Honeycutt (Deer Run Church of Christ), and George Cleverley (Sturgis Church of Christ).

The theme for the weekend was, “The Winner’s Circle” and was based on I Corinthians 9:24-27.

24Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.

25Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. 26Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air. 27No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.

I spent the weekend with a bunch of “winners” and I’ll always cherish the time I spent with the men of Michiana and look forward to being with these guys again when we all reach the winner’s circle and receive a trophy that will last for all eternity.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

