For Those Feeling Weak This Week

March 17, 2010 — 2 Comments

I’m feeling a little weak this week.  Not morally weak or spiritually weak, but physically weak.

I’m busy professionally.  It’s a busy season in the life of any church passionate about maximizing the evangelistic opportunities Easter Sunday provides and we are busy preparing for the community Easter service we’re hosting at the civic center in downtown Greeley.  I’m in the midst of a busy speaking schedule.  The church here is growing so I’m busy trying to stay one step ahead of the growth curve and the next crisis….I mean “opportunity for growth.”

I’m busy personally.  My taxes aren’t done, yet–even though I assured myself (and my wife, sorry Sweetie) they’d be done in February this year–and I need to get those done yesterday.  The kids’ soccer season is underway.  There are several things my wife needs me to fix around the house.  The cars need to be serviced.  I need to set up the trampoline soon or my kids are going to remove me from office.

I’m not whining…we’re all busy and my “busy” is a good busy, but–frankly–I’m feeling weak this week.

Can you relate?

Do you ever feel physically weak? Of course you do.  We all have times when we feel weak, but we need to press on because God has the power to strengthen us.

I find encouragement–and strength–in the following verse:

“But may they who love you be like the sun
when it rises in its strength.”

~Judges 5:31

In the filming of Ben Hur, the star of the movie Charleton Heston had a difficult time learning how to drive the chariot.  So, after a great deal of work and practice, Heston mastered the art of driving the chariot but felt impelled to go to the director, Cecil B. DeMille, and say, “I think I can drive the chariot, but I’m not sure I can win the race.”  DeMille is said to have responded with, “You just stay in the race, and I’ll make sure you win.”  We who belong to and believe in God know that if we hold on we will win the battle over death, but sometimes—speaking just for myself—I just don’t know if I have the strength to stay in the race.

My grandmother Maxey was the weakest and strongest person I’ve ever known.  Tuberculosis and Emphysema took one of her lungs–and most of her physical strength–but couldn’t not conquer her because she had an empowering faith in God.  I was amazed at the power she displayed as she talked about her faith in God.  I was amazed at the power with which she prayed.  I was amazed at the power of her love for God’s people.  At the end of her life Grandma could barely breathe, but her faith in God was breathtaking.

There was no false bravado.

She didn’t strut around.

She didn’t wear a muscle shirt.

Authentic strength cannot be faked and she was authentically strong because her hope was in the Lord so she stayed in the race.

Where’s your hope?

My hope is in the Lord so I’m going to stay in the race, knowing that those who put their hope in the Lord find renewed strength.

Isaiah 40:28-31

28 Do you not know?
Have you not heard?
The LORD is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
and his understanding no one can fathom.

29 He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.

30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;

31 but those who hope in the LORD
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

2 responses to For Those Feeling Weak This Week

  1. 

    Thanks Arron! I needed that encouragement! Feeling weak is not a good feeling, but is a part of life. I find comfort in the words, “He gives strength to the weary.” And I am very thankful that he does!
    Miss you and your beautiful family! I can still picture you holding Levi as he would fall asleep in your arms during our small group Bible study!

  2. 

    I am currently LIVING this post. “High Holy Season” can have that effect on ministers and their families.

    Thank you for coming to speak at the MACU Gospel Rally this past weekend. I thought your message was timely and relevant and I’m glad you were able to come to the school.

Leave a Reply

