ESPN’s Stuart Scott on Tim Tebow’s Scriptural Eyeblack

February 16, 2010 — 6 Comments

I just read a really interesting comment by Stuart Scott of ESPN in this month’s issue of ESPN The Magazine about Tim Tebow’s use of scriptures on his eyeblack.  It was in reply to a question he received in his chat room.

Dave (Bethesda, Md.): What’s with the Bible citations on Tim Tebow’s eyeblack, Stu? If I were a player and had “There is” written on one side of my face and “no God” on the other, would that be okay?

Stuart Scott:  Dave, if that what you want to do, I don’t care. But Tim and I and billions of other believers in the world know you’d be wrong.  I’ve seen the workings of God many times in my life, like when my two daughters were born.  If you don’t believe in God, watch a child be born.  Then if you still say you don’t believe in God, that’s okay. The thing is, I think He’ll watch over you anyway!

6 responses to ESPN’s Stuart Scott on Tim Tebow’s Scriptural Eyeblack

  1. 

    Wowzers. That gave me chills to know a sports “celeb” had such a great response in a published magazine. Stuart is definitely as cool as the other side of the pillow 😉

  2. 

    Yes I am glad he represented. Glory to God, God is good and he is truth.

  3. 

    Happy to read this on the day of his death.

    • 

      Thrilled to know that someone as cool as Stuart “is” a believer and stood up for God. RIP, Stuart (Rejoice In Praise)!

  4. 

    he has definitely gone to be with our Father in Heaven

  5. 

    What is most impressive to me is that in all the shared words that I heard from many famous people regarding their memory of Brother Scott none said anything about his faith directly but in the manner of which he is remembered I find it very interesting that he practiced what he believed. This in my opinion has made his life a true example of what the bible really says to us. Let your light shine as well. Serve humanity and be the blessing needed.

Leave a Reply

