On Great Leaders

January 27, 2010 — Leave a comment

In his book Tribes, Seth Godin makes an interesting observation about great leaders.

“So great leaders don’t try to please everyone.  Great leaders don’t water down their message in order to make the tribe a bit bigger.   Instead, they realize that a motivated, connected tribe in the midst of a movement is far more powerful than a larger group could ever be” (Tribes, p. 67).

I think this applies to Lead Ministers too.

If I tried to please everyone, I would lose my mind…and my way.  I have to seek God’s will for my life and His church and do my best to make His will a reality in both my life and His church.

I must speak the truth and fight the temptation to water down the message to build a crowd.

It’s been my experience that people want to be a part of a movement, so if I focus on walking with integrity, preaching the truth, seeking God’s will, lifting up the name of Jesus, and serving His church humbly the people will come…and the tribe will grow.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

