An Amazing Act of Kindness and Generosity

January 11, 2010 — 1 Comment

Josh Eldridge is an extraordinary person.

He and his family are members at Journey who recently relocated due to Josh’s recent deployment to Afghanistan.  We miss Josh and his family dearly and keep in regular contact with them.

Last month, Josh sent me the following message on Facebook:

“I have some friends now from Afghanistan that live around this area, and the children around here have been burdening me. Winter is coming, and many of them do not have adequate clothes to make it without serious harm. Do you think there is anything that you could do at church in order to possibly get these things for the children? They need coats, socks, gloves, scarves, blankets. I don’t know if it’s something you could do, but I thought it couldn’t hurt to ask.”

I shared this request with the people here at Journey and they responded in an extraordinary way.

Over the past month we collected about $7,000 worth of new (and some barely used) winter clothing for the children of Afghanistan.  This weekend we packed up and mailed 70 large boxes filled with clothes for the Afghan children.  It took over two hours just to process the boxes at the local post office, but the whole time she was over-seeing the transaction the postal worker kept telling my associate how excited she was to be a small part of such a good deed.

A few weeks ago, one of the soldiers in Josh’s group was killed in the line of duty.  With that in mind–and after hearing about the overwhelming and generous response of the people here at Journey–Josh sent me the following message:

“It’s amazing! These gifts will directly affect not only how people perceive Americans, but it also has the real possibility of directly saving my brothers and sisters lives here in Afghanistan. People will see the love that you have shown and will hopefully be open to not only the Love of Christ, but also to the fact that true freedom is shown by caring for others. Please thank Journey for all of their love and gifts!”

Yesterday, I thanked Journey…and I also thanked God for allowing me to serve with such amazing people.

One response to An Amazing Act of Kindness and Generosity

  1. 

    It was extremely interesting for me to read the article. Thanx for it. I like such themes and anything that is connected to this matter. I definitely want to read a bit more soon.

    Sincerely yours

Leave a Reply

