Coach Don Meyer on ESPY Awards

July 15, 2009 — 2 Comments

Coach Don Meyer, of whom I’ve blogged in the past, is receiving the Jimmy V Award at the ESPY’s on ESPN this Sunday, July 19th.

Don Meyer

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, Coach Meyer is a strong Christian and the son-in-law of one of our most faithful families here at Journey.

In honor of Coach Meyer’s award, I’m going to post some of the material he sent to me a few months back.  It was a folder full of motivational and training tools he uses with his teams.  I think most of this stuff can have a much broader application.

Coach Meyer’s Rules:

1. Plan the week on Sunday.

2. Plan the next day the night before.

3. Exercise.

4. Say no.

5. Take mini-vacations.

6. Keep a journal (not what you did but what you learned.)

2 responses to Coach Don Meyer on ESPY Awards

  1. 

    I love number 6. I’ve been thinking about it since I read this. It is so wise and practical.

  2. 

    I am glad that Coach Meyer won this award – he is a beast and he deserved it. Here is a cool article about Coach Meyer and the ESPYs: http://www.mindreign.com/en/mindshare/Sports/ESPYs-Celebrate-Sportsmen-and-Honor-Heroes/sl40763392bp348cpp10pn1.html

Leave a Reply

