Have you been to a baseball game?

May 14, 2009 — 1 Comment

I just read that the men who in 1908 wrote and composed the song, “Take Me Out to the Ball Game,” Jack Norworth and Albert von Tilzer, had never been to a baseball game.

How is that possible?

They displayed so much knowledge of the game, but it was second-hand knowledge.

Unless I’m talking about Heaven, Hell, or sin, I hope I never write or preach of that of which I have no first-hand knowledge.

One response to Have you been to a baseball game?

  1. 

    I completely agree with your theory that ideally you will have some sort of experience when preaching and teaching. The Bible however has words of wisdom to be shared with listeners even when we ourselves haven’t experienced it. For example when my husband preaches about godly parenting…………he’s not a parent. so yes your theory is true, but not always the case.

Leave a Reply

