Turning 40

April 14, 2009 — 6 Comments

I turn 40 this week and I’m not sure how I feel about it.  Sometimes I’m excited; sometimes I’m just sore . . . I mean physically sore! 

It came a lot quicker than I expected it to. 

This morning I was reflecting on some of the most important lessons I’ve learned to this point.  Let me share a few of them with you.

(in no particular order)

  • While you’re young, eat Krispy Kreme doughnuts every chance you get.
  • Glasses really aren’t that bad.  They actually help you to see.
  • Take humility wherever you can get it.
  • You don’t cut off a dog’s tail an inch at a time.
  • God can use tread mills to humble us.
  • Speaking of dogs . . . think carefully before bringing one home from the pound.  You might not want the dog with bladder control problem.
  • Education is a good thing and makes us more useful to God, so get it while you can.
  • Keep it simple.
  • Rarely are things as bad as you imagine they are going to be . . . except for diapers, piano recitals, catheters, vasectomies, and any dealings with the IRS.
  • The most important thing you can do in local ministry is just love your people.
  • God funds his vision.
  • You gotta’ be where the bein’ is.
  • Guys: Don’t ever let anyone photograph you in a dress.  You’ll regret it.  Trust me.
  • There’s nothing like having your child fall asleep on your chest or in your arms.  Enjoy it while you can.
  • When the lady at the pool store asks you if you’d like the kitten she just found in the dumpster, don’t call your wife and ask her what she thinks you should do.
  • Email is really a poor tool for communicating with someone with whom you’re frustrated or angry.  Talking face to face is always the best thing to do.
  • Re: Email.  If you’re determined to send an angry email instead of talking with someone face to face, you are making a big mistake.  But, if you’re still intent on sending it, it’s always best to wait at least 24 hours and then delete it.  🙂
  • Talk to your grandparents while you can.  They have a ton of wisdom.
  • There’s nothing better in local ministry than good Elders. 
  • Start saving for your retirement as early as you possibly can.
  • Make time to read the classics.
  • It’s not a good idea to let your Siberian Husky pull you on your roller blades.
  • Don’t be afraid to try new and different types of food.
  • Take as many mission trips as you possibly can.
  • In the work world, no one is indispensable.
  • In the church, no one is dispensable.
  • You can’t out give God.
  • Raising a teen-aged daughter is really a lot of fun . . . really.  Man, I love my daughter and I love watching her blossom into a lovely young woman. 
  • Wrestle with your kids every time they want to, because they won’t always want to.
  • Go easy on the late night bowls of Peanut-Butter Crunch.
  • If you have a chance to watch the sunset at St. Petersburg Beach, do it.
  • Coffee is actually pretty good.
  • Your wife won’t kiss you after drinking coffee.
  • Coffee is of the Devil!
  • Some hills are just not worth dying on.
  • When your transmission light comes on, don’t try to drive a few hundred more miles.
  • Phone calling cards are not a good investment.
  • Love your friends deeply.
  • Don’t take yourself too seriously.
  • Take God more seriously.
  • Eat slaw dogs with cheese every chance you get.
  • Take it from a man who is married to an angel: Marry the right woman and your life will be heaven.
  • My most important ministry is to my family.
  • God won’t make you take a step of faith.  You can choose to play it safe, but–if you do–you’ll always regret it.
  • Getting old is really not that bad.  Although, you might want to take it easy on the Krispy Kremes.
  • Always remember who you are.
  • With God, there’s always more beyond.
6 responses to Turning 40

  1. 

    My birthday’s coming up this week too. When’s yours?

  2. 

    I enjoyed reading your thoughts about turning 40 and things you’ve learned. Each comment took me to another place in thought….some I relate to. I concur with you – phone cards not a great investment!! : )
    Having hit the big 50 this past year, I’ve been quite reflective on life – where I’ve been/where I’m going. I can say that years slip away before you know it…kids grow up and move out…parents age and deal with health issues. Somewhere, I find myself in the middle of all that. It is a hard place to be…so much letting go. But, as that process is happening, I’m learning to discover what I am all about again…finding time for me..to explore new interests . That was lost for several decades. One thing I’ve learned , that no matter what life throws at you, I am always evolving, life is ever changing …cycles pushing us into new phases…it cannot be avoided. I think we refer to them as the seasons of our lives. Change…always moving forward…and the years click by.
    Live in the present…the past turning into memories…the future uncharted. Make the most of each day…cherish the moments.

  3. 

    I have seen the sunset at clearwater and it is A-MAZING.

  4. 

    Thanks for these thoughts, Arron.

  5. 
    Michelle Young April 24, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    WOW. Words of Wisdom….

Leave a Reply

