No More Night!

March 25, 2009 — 9 Comments

Living with grief is a strange experience.  Sometimes grief is nowhere to be found–as if he’s finally moved away.  Other times, you can’t get him to leave you alone and stop pestering you.  When grief first visits you, it’s as if he moves in to a spare room in your house that–before you met grief–you didn’t know existed.  In my experience, once grief moves in he never moves out; he’s always in the next room.  Another interesting thing about grief is that he comes and goes whenever he wants to.

You’ll be doing something that has nothing to do with him, when–suddenly–he barges in and forces you to deal with him. 

That’s what happened to me this morning at 5 a.m.

I’m just minding my own business–writing a chapter in my book on the subject of intimacy and listening to my mp3.  I had my mp3 set for random play, when–out of the blue and completely unannounced–grief walked into my office singing a David Phelps’ song, “No More Night.”

Grief sang this song at my Dad’s funeral over 20 years ago.

What an amazing song.

So, here I am, trying to write about having Christ-like intimacy with sinners and I find myself missing my Dad.

What an amazing man.

I don’t want to mislead you.  Grief and I have a good relationship.  I embraced him early on and made peace with him.  He knows he can visit me any time he wants.  Locking him out permanently is impossible.  He’ll get in one way or another.  It’s best not to resist him.

He’s really not a monster; he’s actually–once you get to know him–a benevolent visitor who wants the best for us.

I’ve found, over time, that his visits are helpful and healing.

This morning, he reminded me that–in Christ–a day is coming when there will be no more night, no more pain, no more tears, and we will live in the light of the risen Lamb.

And, although I wasn’t expecting a visit from grief this morning–like most of the times he visits unexpectedly–I’m grateful he decided to pop in.

9 responses to No More Night!

  1. 
    solascriptura57 March 25, 2009 at 6:21 am

    Boy can I ever relate! My daughter passed away one month ago, and grief has moved in. Thank you for pisting this. It’s just how I feel.

  2. 

    Arron, I always knew you were a vessel of God, but sometimes I’m amazed at how much so. The timing of this post could not have been better for our family, who lost a beloved member suddenly and without warning just over one week ago. I’ll be sharing your message as no doubt it will be a source of comfort and understanding. Thank you so much. You’re the best!

  3. 

    great song…and reminder…wish i had some insight to add…just keep letting God move through your words

    PEACE

  4. 

    Dear Friend Arron,
    I have had so much grief in my life that it’s staggering sometimes to think about it. I have also had tremendous amounts of spiritual growth during those times. Sometimes an old song can bring back such pain, and so quickly, that I can remember what shirt I was wearing when I heard it.
    Grief, after a period of time, can be comforting. It can be comforting as long as you know that God will take you from Point A to Point B, you just have to be patient and let Him lead the way. It’s EXACTLY like the age-old “Footprints in the Sand” story. He carries us.:)

  5. 
    Linda Chambers March 30, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    Arron, as usual your words concerning grief are so insightful. After 20 years you would think time had healed all those little holes in your heart and then there is that smell of aftershave, the words to that hymn about heaven and again you are back in that special time with a hole in your heart. God does heal our hearts a few tears at a time.
    Mother

  6. 

    Thanks, yet another coincidence Arron! My inlaws just sent me his “Live in Birmingham” DVD/CD (signed btw) 🙂 for my birthday …the 31st of March (actually received the box the day of or after you posted this!) [looking upward]
    Wonderful song! My favorite is “Life is a Church”. Anyway! Amen to no more night!

  7. 

    I feel that I shouldn’t understate this. Arron you and your dad (through his recordings) were most influential in my coming to the Lord. I asked Mandy last night when exactly the package arrived (see previous comment) and she confirmed w/o a doubt that it was Wednesday the 25th. God keeps leaving me these reminders that He is there, just when I need it the most. In fact, my faith has been tested lately from sharing Christ in the workplace among a very diverse office. Hopefully, sharing this account with your blog audience helps them deepen and strengthen their walk. I’ll leave this at that and let God be God!

    Shawn

    PS.

    By the way, I see a blog comment above from “solascriptura57”. Is this the same publication related to Marquis Laughlin from ActsoftheWord.com??? IF so, he will be in League City Texas this Good Friday! Need I mention, that is my folks home town. In fact, our church is not having a Friday service to visit his presentation of the Gospel of John!

  8. 
    Janice Campbell Pierce July 15, 2009 at 6:03 am

    God works in mysterious ways. . . and when we least expect it (but inside are praying for it), He brings a message that we truly need to hear. Today, He used you to speak to me through your message on grief.

    “No More Night” is one of my favorites. Thank you for your message and for the song . . .and may He bless you with all good things. . .

    Janice

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. I thought this was good « MyRedeemerLiveth - March 25, 2009

    […] No More Night   […]

Leave a Reply

