A Few of My Favorite Quotes

March 4, 2009 — 13 Comments

In my reading this morning, I came across a list of some of my favorite quotes.  Here are a few:

·         Thomas Carlyle, “For the man who cannot wonder, is but a pair of spectacles behind which there is no eye.”

 

·         This quote is attributed to Chicagoarchitect Daniel Burnham. “Make no little plans; they have no magic to stir men’s blood and probably themselves will not be realized. Make big plans; aim high in hope and work. Remember that our sons and grandsons are going to do things that would stagger us.”

 

·        Jaroslav Pelikan: Traditions are the living faith of the dead.  Traditionalism is the dead faith of the living.

 

·         Steve Brown, “Did you know that studies have shown it is almost impossible to give a dog an ulcer?  Do you know why?  Because dogs hardly ever try to be anything but a dog.”

Use the “comment” link to post one of your favorite quotes.  I’d love to generate a long list of great quotes on this post.

13 responses to A Few of My Favorite Quotes

  1. 

    Never marry anyone you could not sit next to during a three-day bus trip.
    –Roger Ebert

  2. 

    ‘Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things which escape those who dream only by night”. Robert Frost????

  3. 

    Don’t make me turn this car around!
    -Dad

  4. 

    “I am only one, but I am one. I cannot do everything, but I can do something. What I can do, I should do, and with the help of God, I will do!”~~Everett Hale, Chaplain of the US Senate and Grandnephew of Nathan Hale who is quoted as saying “I only regret that I have but one life to give my country.”

  5. 
    Chad McConnaughey March 5, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    “I think someone needs an attitude adjustment!”

    Ash Phil about this one!

    -John Smith (Tenn)

  6. 

    “Nothing wastes the body like worry, and anyone who has any faith in God should be ashamed to worry about anything whatsoever”.
    -Ghandi

  7. 
    Jordan Savage March 9, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    A saved man can finally get his head on straight.

    -Preacher Irving Wallace

  8. 
    Nicholas Moore March 18, 2009 at 8:54 am

    The study of God’s word, for the purpose of discovering God’s will, is the secret discipline which has formed the greatest characters.
    J.W. Alexander

  9. 
    Nicholas Moore March 18, 2009 at 8:57 am

    The more a man bows his knee before God, the straighter he stands before man.

  10. 
    Nicholas Moore March 18, 2009 at 8:59 am

    ” Our purpose is people, remember who you are”

  11. 

    “Efficiency is getting the job done right. Effectiveness is getting
    the right job done. Excellence is getting the right job done well.”

    Zig Ziglar

  12. 

    “Nothing that grieves us can be called little: by the eternal laws of proportion a child’s loss of a doll and a king’s loss of a crown are events of the same size.” Mark Twain, “Which was the Dream?” story, 1897

  13. 

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I’m not sure about the former. “Newton”

Leave a Reply

