A Gift for My Fellow Parents of Teens: Text Codes Defined

February 27, 2009 — 1 Comment
My 15-year-old daughter loves to text and I love to communicate with her, so we’ve been texting back and forth a lot.

I actually like being able to connect with her in this way.  I don’t want it to be our primary mode of communication, but it’s nice to be able to let her know throughout the day that I love her, that I want her to remember who she is, that I’m glad she’s my daughter, and that–if she ever resets the DVR to record Hannah Montana and forgets to make sure that Lost is still on the DVR schedule that she’ll be sold to the first circus that passes through town.

Some of the things I’ve had to learn quickly are text codes.  Text codes are the acronyms texters use to communicate more quickly.

My friend Alisa Franz is a writer for the Derby Weekly Informer–a newspaper in Derby, Kansas.

 

I enjoy reading her column, Life in the Fishbowlespecially the one she just wrote on text codes entitled, Cell Phone Usage: MUBAR.

In her article she includes a list of some of the most common text codes and what they stand for.  I found it to be very helpful, so I’m sharing it with you.

STAY INFORMED-Text Codes Defined:

MUBAR – Messed Up Beyond All Recognition
BTW – By the way
LOL – Lots of laughs
IDK – I don’t know
2moro – Tomorrow
420 – marijuana
4EAE – Forever and Ever
831, 459, ILY, ILU – I Love You
B4N – Bye For Now
B4YKI – Before You Know It
BDBI5M – Busy Daydreaming Back In 5 Minutes
CD9 – Code 9 – Parents Are Around
C4N – Ciao For Now
C-P – Sleepy
CUL8R – See You Later
D&M – Deep and Meaningful
def – Definitely
E123 – Easy As One, Two, Three
F2F – Face-to-Face
G1 – Good One
G2G – Got to Go
GI – Google It
GSOAS – Go Sit on a Snake
H&K – Hugs and Kisses
I 1-D-R – I Wonder
I-D-L – Ideal
KPC – Keeping Parents Clueless
kewl – Cool
MOS – Mom Over Shoulder
natch – Naturally
N-A-Y-L – In A While
NE14KFC – Anyone for KFC?
Ne2H – Need to Have
AAAAA – American Association Against Acronym Abuse

 

One response to A Gift for My Fellow Parents of Teens: Text Codes Defined

  1. 

    Alisa is a fantastic writer. We love her column. That is why we buy the Derby Informer is to read her articles. “Let your light shine”, Alisa!

Leave a Reply

