What I found when I got lost in a corn maze.

October 28, 2008 — 1 Comment

Last Saturday my family and I went to the The Fritzler Corn MAiZE.

I’d never been to a corn maze before, so I didn’t know what to expect. 

A man in our church–who owns the maze–invited us to come and check it out.  We did and it was so much fun. 

We entered the maze and immediately found ourselves lost and in a mess.  Everywhere we looked all we could see was corn.  My younger kids wanted to take turns being the “leader,” so we let them–which made our journey even more adventurous. 

Being in the maze was a unique experience.  To be so lost when you are so close to so many people is a bizarre experience.  We could clearly hear people enjoying the other amusements at the Maize, but all we could see was corn.

We kept walking . . . and walking . . . and walking, until we finally found our way out.  It was a real adventure and a lot of fun.

Later in the afternoon we were given the chance to see the Corn Maize from above when we were offered a ride on a helicopter.

What an awesome experience! I’ve always wanted to ride in a helicopter, so I was ecstatic about the opportunity.  My youngest son, Sylas, rode with me and we both laughed, oohed, aahed, and thoroughly enjoyed every single moment of that trip.

One of the coolest parts of the flight was seeing the Maize from another perspective.

From the ground the Corn Maize looked like . . . corn.  Rows and rows of corn and kind of a mess.

From the air, here’s what the Maize looked like:

Wow!

What a difference a little perspective makes.

From the ground it looked like corn, but from a better perspective it is obviously a picture of Mr. Fritzler’s parents.

Isn’t that how it is with life?

Sometimes we find ourselves lost in painful situations in this world and it looks like there’s no way out and nothing meaningful happening.  We feel lost and in a mess.

Haven’t you ever found yourself in a tough situation and wondered, “Lord, I trust you, but I don’t understand what you’re doing here.  I can’t see it”?

I know I have.

But, then–upon further reflection, Bible study, prayer, wise counsel, and the passing of time–I’ve gotten a better perspective and realized God was making something significant out of the mess; I just couldn’t see it from where I was at the time.

I know that when my Dad died I couldn’t see it.

I couldn’t make sense of what God was doing.

I found myself lost, alone, and wandering through a maze of questions, but now–twenty years later–I have a better perspective and can see that God was working all along to make something meaningful out of the mess. It’s not a complete picture.  I still have a lot of questions, but so much more makes sense now.  I now see that God was doing something purposeful after all.

Now I can see that he was creating strength in me.

Now I can see that he was creating character in me.

Now I can see that he was creating endurance in me.

Now I can see that he was creating compassion in me.

Now I can see that he was creating faith in me.

Now–with a better perspective–it doesn’t look like a mess anymore; it looks a lot like my heavenly Father.

One response to What I found when I got lost in a corn maze.

  1. 

    What a great illustration!! Straight out of life.
    As I read it I got to thinking about how many people are “lost” – they hear others, they are so close to finding their way out but all they can see is the “corn.” (world) It takes someone else with a “helicopter view” to help them out of the maize and into the Master’s arms. Thanks Arron!

Leave a Reply

