Humility

August 26, 2008 — Leave a comment

One of my best friends gave me some great advice: “You have to take humility wherever you can get it.”

A few minutes ago, a really nice woman called the church to let me know that they wanted to be taken off the mailing list because they recently moved away.

I’ve only been here a couple of months and I didn’t recognize their surname, so I asked her if I had “had the chance to meet them” and she replied, “Yes. Once. We were there on your first Sunday. We met you and weren’t impressed.”

Ouch!

If I’m being completely honest with you–that kind of hurt my feelings. My first reaction was to think, “Well, go ahead then. Who needs you?” and “Not impressed?!? What’s not to be impressed with?!?” and “If you gave me a chance, you’d be impressed,” but–after a little more reflection–I realized that all of those reactions were sinful pride. It’s good for me to hear things like that, because I’m not really as impressive as I think I am. None of us are.

Impressing people is not my goal, anyway. At least, it should not be.

Impacting people–for God–is my goal, but sometimes I struggle with pride and start to worry too much about what people think about me. Sometimes I do try to impress people and that’s not a worthy goal and it doesn’t impact many–if any–lives for God.

Now, we all know that it’s important for us to live lives that bring honor to God. I don’t want to be an embarrassment to the ministry, the Gospel, or my God, by failing morally, spiritually, or professionally, so I work hard to be a good steward of the opportunities God has given me. That being said, I need to be careful that I don’t become more concerned with impressing men than with impacting people for God as I fulfill my calling.

And, to do that, I’m going to need to take humility–even if I have to get it from the passing comment of a nice lady making an after-hours phone call.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

