Missing Dad

August 8, 2008 — 9 Comments

It’s Father’s Day 2013 and I’m missing my Dad.

My Dad–Roger Chambers–died of a massive heart attack while at Hillsboro Family Camp in August of 1988. He died while taking a nap in the camper of dear friends. I’m comforted by the fact that my Dad was with people he loved when he died and with the One he loved when he woke up.

Death is a mortally wounded monster.

Death has been defeated, but he’s still claiming victims as he flounders towards his ultimate demise.

God hates death. He hates death so much that he sent his son to a cross so that all people could have the chance to live forever if they put their faith in him.

On the cross Jesus defeated death forever and all who choose to stand with him on his side of the conflict find themselves standing with the victor.

When we face life and death in Christ we’re not fighting for victory, but from victory.

I love God.
I hate death.
I like hope.

Death is not the final word for Christians.

If Christ doesn’t return in our lifetime we are all going to die.

Have a good day! 🙂

But–praise God!–everyone who dies in Christ will never die again.

My Dad was a Christ follower, so he is now with the Lord.

That hope has sustained me and my family for the past 25 years and will sustain us for as long as we breathe.

. . . but, I still miss my Dad.

I miss his smile.
I miss his sense of humor.
I miss his preaching and teaching.
I miss his wisdom.
I miss hearing him play his harmonica.
I miss seeing him laying on the couch on Saturday evenings with his eyes closed as he listened to, “A Prairie Home Companion.”
I miss eating dinner with him.
I miss playing H.O.R.S.E. with him on the basketball court in front of our house.
I miss wrestling with him.
I miss seeing the glimmer in his eye as he told some story about a dead Persian who did something significant.
I miss walking into the kitchen and catching him kissing Mom.
I miss his parenting advice.
I miss him desperately and I can’t wait to see him again.

“Lord, thank you for blessing me with such an amazing father. Because I knew Roger Chambers I feel like I know you more. Thank you for giving me 19 years with Dad. I cherished every moment. Thank you for using Dad to minister to so many people and for giving me such a godly role-model from which I could learn how to minister to people as well. My life is yours because of Dad and Mom’s ministry for you to our family. I love you, Lord. I really miss Dad. It still hurts profoundly. I’m not sure how this works, but I humbly ask that you let him know that his family still loves him, but–and this would be even more important to Dad–can you also let him know that every one in his family is still loving you, too. Amen.”

9 responses to Missing Dad

  1. 
    Linda Chambers August 8, 2012 at 6:59 am

    Thanks Arron. I love your words of comfort and reality. I miss him too. I am so grateful for his legacy and faith that lives in all his children and grandchildren. He would be so proud that all of us are faithfully walking with the Lord.

  2. 

    Arron, what a beautiful tribute. I remember this loss well. Press on with your lovely family. You and Rhonda are bringing honor to him and his legacy by your compelling life and devotion to the Lord. On the other side we will live forever! I know this is still so hard, especially today, but remembering him is GOOD. Psalm 111:4

  3. 

    Death renews the longing for Christs return and the desperate desire to bring more along with us.

  4. 

    I have a feeling that your Dad has hooked up with my Dad sharing laughter and maybe a Heavenly buffet. I know the feeling of voids left by our Dads are carried with us…sorry you are feeling that ache. I know it well. But, someday, we’ll join them at the buffet and laugh along with them. Hugs to you, Aaron

  5. 

    Beautiful memories.

  6. 
    Cheryl (Nickel) Lansburg August 8, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Aaron, this is beautiful. I miss your Dad, too. He made a big difference in my life and taught me how to think for myself. You are an amazing tribute to his honor!

  7. 

    Lovely. I’ve only heard remarkable things about your dad. I wish I could have met him.

  8. 

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each
    time a comment is added I get three e-mails with the
    same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service?

    Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

