Randy Pausch Inspires Graduates

July 29, 2008 — Leave a comment

On plane ride from North Carolina to Kentucky on Saturday I read Randy Pausch’s best selling book, The Last Lecture. The book was a delightful mixture of practical wisdom, inspiring stories, and the pure love of a husband and father for his wife and kids.

At times it made me laugh; at other times I cried. I was afraid the flight attendants were going to tie me to my seat for my own safety and the safety of others. 🙂

Safe to say, I highly recommend the book.

This morning I stumbled across a short speech Randy Pausch delivered to graduates of Carnegie Mellon on May 18.

In it he says something that resonated with me. In my first book, Running On Empty: Life Lessons to Refuel Your Faith I proposed (based on John 10:10) that Jesus didn’t come into this world so that our lives would be busy, but full–and in my book I detail what it means to have a truly “full” life. In this speech Randy talks about “beating the Reaper.” (btw–Randy is a believer.)

In response to someone who commented that Randy was really “beating the Reaper” Randy said, “We don’t beat the Reaper by living longer. We beat the Reaper by living well and living fully.”

Now, that will preach.

Here’s the rest of his speech:

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

