Poor Great Indian Hornbill

July 10, 2008 — Leave a comment

I was at the zoo in Houston last month when I encountered a pitiful sight.

Honestly, I don’t really like birds and I only encountered the Great Indian Hornbill because his cage was on the way to the tigers, but his living conditions made me really sad.

Not because he was in a bad cage, or a small cage, or even a cage at all. Actually, his cage was pretty nice. I was saddened because of what was written on his cage.

Here’s what I read on the placard attached to his cage: “The whooshing sound of the Great Indian Hornbill’s wings during flight can be heard from 1/2 mile away.”

I had to take their word for it, because this great bird was sitting silently on a stick in a brown cage surrounded by bits and pieces of foliage.

No singing, no chirping, no flying, so there was definitely no “whooshing”.

Isn’t that sad? To have such a beautiful gift and it’s not being enjoyed by others.

I don’t know what kind of day you’re having, but I want you to know that God created you to be a blessing in this world. You are “God’s workmanship created in Christ Jesus to do good works” (Ephesians 2:10) and he wants you to do extraordinary things today.

It’s God’s desire that the whooshing of your wings be heard from at least 1/2 mile away, so don’t let Satan cage you, silence you, or ground you.

Fly.
Soar.
And whoosh like you were born to whoosh!

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

