Connection and The Restoration Movement

July 10, 2008 — Leave a comment

If you’re a regular visitor to my blog I apologize for my sporadic posting over the past month. I’m just now coming out of the chaos called “Ministry Transition.”

As you can see I have some catching up to do. . .

I’ve really enjoyed reading this week’s edition of the Christian Standard. There are two things I want to direct you to.

First, on the right side of page 7 there’s an advertisement for a company called, Clergy Financial.

Honestly, two weeks ago I wouldn’t have even noticed the ad, but that was before I was one of their clients. My friend Paul Williams and I had lunch a couple of weeks ago and he told me about Clergy Financial and what they do for churches, ministers, and their staffs. His excitement alone was enough for me to make an appointment with them. I did and I was blown away with their professionalism and their commitment to help “clergy” with taxes, financial planning, retirement, and insurance.

Now, I’m not into doing commercials on my blog, but I’m convinced that too many of my ministry friends are ignorant of the benefits that are out there for us (I know I was) so I feel compelled–after visiting with Clergy Financial’s staff–to plug this ministry. btw–They’ve been working with Rick Warren and doing his taxes for the past 20 years.

Here’s a blurb from their website:

In the foothills of the Colorado Rockies, Clergy Financial has specialized in Tax Preparation and Tax advantaged planning for ministers, rabbis and religious workers since 1980. During that time we have earned the trust and national reputation as one of the foremost authorities on every aspect of Clergy Tax Issues, especially, Advanced Clergy Housing Allowance Strategies.
Our professional team has a collective experience base of over 150 years in Tax Preparation and Planning. This means that we are able to provide the most comprehensive service for clergy that combines tax preparation with strategies to optimize your unique tax opportunities.

If you are in paid vocational minister I’d highly recommend you check out Clergy Financial.

Second, I want to direct your attention to the survey results on page 17 of the magazine and here on the Christian Standard website.

The question was asked: How important to you is each of the following means of staying connected with Christian Churches/Churches of Christ?

I was especially interested to find that–under the “Useless” column–blogs written by local church ministers was #1.

Ouch!

The results are really interesting, so I hope you’ll check them out: Survey Results.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

