Dancing With Cinderella

May 22, 2008 — Leave a comment

I’m sitting here weeping for a family I’ve never met, but know very well.

Yesterday Steven Curtis Chapman’s 5-year-old daughter, Maria Sue, was accidentally killed by a sport utility vehicle driven by her older brother, authorities said.

This is the message posted on Steven Curtis Chapman’s website:

At approximately 5pm on the afternoon of Wednesday May 21st, Maria Sue Chapman, 5 years old and the youngest daughter to Steven and Mary Beth Chapman was struck in the driveway of the Chapman home in Franklin, TN. Maria was rushed to Vanderbilt Childrens Hospital in Nashville, transported by LifeFlight, but died of her injuries there. Maria is one of the close knit family’s six children and one of their three adopted daughters. More than five years ago, Chapman and his wife MaryBeth founded The Shaohannah’s Hope Ministry after bringing their first adopted daughter, Shaohannah, home from China. The ministry’s goal is to help families reduce the financial barrier of adoption, and has provided grants to over 1700 families wishing to adopt orphans from around the world. Chapman is a five-time GRAMMY ® winner and 54-time Dove Award winning artist who has sold over 10 million albums and garnered 44 No. 1 singles.

Maria and her sister Stevie Joy were the inspiration for Chapman’s hit song, Cinderella.

Here’s a clip of Maria and her sister with their father on vacation.

I can’t imagine the pain that the Chapman family is experiencing right now. The grief must be overwhelming. I’m praying that this family will also be overwhelmed by God’s comfort and healing power.

One minute ago my 5-year-old son came into my room and asked me if I had the time to get his favorite G.I. Joe off of the roof.

An hour ago I might have said, “I’ll get it down before the end of the week. Play with another one”

Now, everything has changed, so I told Sylas, “Sure, let’s get him down now.”

So–if you’ll excuse me–I’m off to dance with one of my Cinderellas.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

