Ben Merold

May 15, 2008 — Leave a comment

Last month I had the privilege of spending some time with Ben and Pat Merold. They are humble people who have been used by God to do some amazing things.

Ben is the Sr. Minister at Harvester Christian Church in St. Charles, Missouri. Ben began preaching in 1948, and beyond leading churches in four states, he has preached the gospel in 47 states and seven foreign countries. Ben has been senior minister at Harvester Christian Church, in St. Charles, Missouri for 16 years and in that time Harvester has grown from under 200 people to an average attendance of 3,500 today.

Over dinner Ben shared a few stories from his ministry. His stories were fascinating. I told him he should write a book. Please Ben! 🙂

So, it goes without saying that I was so excited to see an article from Ben in the most recent edition of Christian Standard’s Enewsletter entitled, Surprises From My 50 Years of Ministry.

It’s a great read!

Here’s an excerpt:

At about age 51 I purchased my first pair of eyeglasses after an eye examination. On the Sunday night after receiving my glasses I started a series of sermons at a church in central California.

On Monday afternoon we called on a man who was about as belligerent as anyone I have ever met. He was rude and insulting, but I did manage to show him some of the Scriptures concerning sin and salvation. That night I sat on the front pew trying to read the words of the songs through my new glasses. I was having a hard time adjusting to them and, in disgust, took them off and left them on that pew as I got up to preach.

When we extended the invitation this rude guy came down the aisle all the way from the back of the building. His appearance led me to believe he was coming to fight me. However, he stopped in front of the Communion table, let out an audible sigh, dropped down on the front pew, and smashed my new glasses.

He never knew it, and I never told him. He confessed Christ as Savior and was baptized—it changed his life and his attitude.

By the way, I was able to have another pair of glasses made within two days. I had seen the convicting power of the Holy Spirit work through the Word of God and change that man into a new creation. I still think the price of another pair of glasses was worth it.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

