Off to Bristol!

March 13, 2008 — Leave a comment

A couple of weeks ago my wife gave me the best birthday present ever! She got me tickets to the Food City 500 NASCAR race in Bristol, Tennessee this weekend.

My in-laws live close to the track, so we’re taking the entire family on this exciting trip.

Bar-B-Q on Friday at Ridgewood.

Climbing the mountain in Rhonda’s backyard.

Miles and time with my kids in the van on the way up and back.

My Mother-in-law’s great cooking.

The smell of the fresh mountain air.

Spending time with my Father-in-law and talking about life, ministry, and the Tennessee Men’s Basketball team.

Watching Dale Jarrett’s last points race–in person.

Hearing the roar of the engines and smelling burnt rubber and race fuel.

And watching my first race at Bristol Motor Speedway–arguably, the most exciting race venue in the series–it doesn’t get much better than this.

“Boogity, boogity, boogity. Boys, let’s go racin’!”

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

