Wisdom from my Grandfather

March 10, 2008 — Leave a comment

My Mom sent me an article that my Grandfather had in his Bible. It blessed me today, so I’m sharing it with you.

It’s entitled, “Stand Still” and is written as a message from God to us.

1. Stand Still that I may Reason with you–I Samuel 12:7
2. Stand Still that I may Show you the Word of God–I Samuel 9:27
3. Stand Still and Hear–Numbers 9:8
4. Stand Still and See the salvation of the Lord–Exodus 14:13

  • A.T. Pierson–“Here for the first time men were taught the virtue of standing still in a great crisis of danger to witness the Lord’s deliverance. The battle is not yours, but God’s.”

5. Stand Still and Consider–Job 37:14
6. Stand Still and Know that I am God–Psalm 46:10

  • My Grandfather, Tibbs Maxey, wrote in the margin here, “God’s not dead yet!”

Amen, Grandpa, Amen!

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

