Mr. Earl and One of My Favorite Worship Songs

February 27, 2008 — Leave a comment

I was downstairs talking with Mr. Earl a few moments ago. He comes every week to, “Hour of Power”, a Bible Study taught by our Minister to Seniors, where he will make a request that he makes every week: to sing “Victory in Jesus.”

In the past 17 months I’ve been at Christ’s Church Mr. Earl has made a point of speaking to me every time we’ve seen each other. He’s been such an amazing blessing to me and has encouraged me, so much.

He’s a fascinating man. He’s about to turn 85. He’s a widower. He’s a WW2 veteran who flew bomber missions over Germany. He sings in the choir. He volunteers at a hospital. He’s battling cancer while still loving Jesus–and his people–passionately.

He’s such a blessing.

So, this morning we’re talking about life, faith, WW2, and how much he enjoys hugging the single ladies in his class 🙂 when he mentioned his son. I knew that his son was a worship leader, but I didn’t know much more than that. This morning I asked for his son’s name so I could Google his ministry.

I couldn’t believe what I found.

About four years ago, before our small group, I saw a video of a worship song that blew me away. It was video of the song, “Days of Elijah.” I was so moved by the song that the next day I asked our worship minister to find it and teach it to our church.

It’s one of my–and my kids’–favorite worship songs.

Well, just a few minutes ago, when I Googled Mr. Earl’s son, Paul Wilbur, I discovered that he’s the one who sang that song on the video I saw.

How cool is that?!?

So, here you go . . . Mr. Earl’s son leading “Days of Elijah.”

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

