My Feelings on Apathy

January 31, 2008 — Leave a comment

I’m in the process of writing a book on evangelism.

When I write a book I have to immerse myself in the project. I’m reading articles on evangelism, books on evangelism, and I’m reading the gospel of Luke–scouring each verse for every single morsel I can find that reveals Christ’s heart for lost people.

As I’ve been thinking about evangelism I’ve been reminded that I must be careful that I don’t allow myself to become apathetic.

If we’re not careful we can become desensitized to the plight of lost people in our world. Are we apathetic when exposed to the needs of the people we encounter on a daily basis?

Do you feel anything for the man holding the “Will Work For Food” sign, or do you see only words on a torn piece of cardboard?

Do you feel anything for the frazzled mom with dirty kids ahead of you in line at Wal-Mart, or do you just see a woman who is making you late because she can’t seem to find all of her food-stamps?

Do you feel anything for your co-worker as he wonders how to save his marriage, or do you only see a philanderer who’s getting what he deserves?

Do you feel anything for the homosexual guy who works in your building who is grieving the loss of his partner to AIDS, or do you only see someone who got what “he deserves”?

Jesus cared about lost people and, if we really want to be of any use to him in this world, we must too.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

