Randy’s Last Lecture

October 10, 2007 — Leave a comment

Carnegie Mellon Professor Randy Pausch, who is dying from pancreatic cancer, gave his last lecture at the university Sept. 18, 2007, before a packed McConomy Auditorium. In his moving talk, “Really Achieving Your Childhood Dreams,” Pausch talked about his lessons learned and gave advice to students on how to achieve their own career and personal goals.

A month ago Randy was told that he has 3-6 months of “good life” left.

I was so inspired as I watched this lecture yesterday. I love Randy’s energy, passion for life, and his love for his family.

He and I share a common dream: Being an Imagineer for Disney. I have more ideas than one human being should be allowed to have.

Before you watch it I want you to know three things.

First, this video is long. You can find shorter versions of it on the Internet. Just Google “Randy Pausch” and you’ll find the shorter versions of his lecture.

Second, this lecture contains some curse words. No “F-bombs”, but he does say some other curse words, so I wanted to warn you. In other words: don’t send me hate mail.

Third, Randy’s presentation is full of a lot of great life and leadership advice.

I don’t know Randy, but I like him.

He’s a dreamer. A visionary. A man who is committed to helping others to fulfill their dreams. A man who loves life.

And a man whom I’m now praying for on a daily basis and with whom I’d love to eat dinner.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

