More Than Just A Game!

September 27, 2007 — Leave a comment

Our sports ministry has a slogan that they use in their ministry: “More than just a game.”

Our sports ministers want people to understand that when they are playing sports at Christ’s Church that they are only playing a game and that–even though there are many benefits to athletics–there is so much more to life than sports.

This is the lesson that my boys learned while playing indoor soccer in our church league.

At the end of the season the children were asked to give up their brand new jerseys, cleats, and soccer balls for children in Honduras supported by one of our missions.

The response was overwhelming.

Last week, a team from Christ’s Church, lead by my friend David Lawson, went to Honduras to serve and to deliver these gifts to the children.

On his blog, Purpose In Every Step, David posted a video of the children in Honduras playing soccer in the jerseys and cleats.

Check it out:

I can’t wait for my boys to see this video and to see the joy on the faces of the two other little boys who are now wearing the jerseys that they donated last month.

I want my boys to see the joy that comes when we give.

I want my boys to see what can happen when we simply love people.

I want my boys to see that these children are just like them.

I want my boys to see that it is truly more than just a game.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

