Finding God on MySpace

February 14, 2007 — Leave a comment

Reluctantly, and after a lot of thought, I joined MySpace a week ago. A friend convinced me that it would be a good way to connect with people and for people to connect with me.

Honestly, as I was setting up my MySpace I felt juvenile. I felt like I was embarking on a colossal waste of time. I felt worldly, but I also felt curious and a little excited, too.

So, I set up my profile, downloaded artwork for my site, selected a nice Christian song for my profile, and a wholesome picture, started blogging, and surfing MySpace and before I knew it I found that people wanted to be my friend.

In a week and a half 75 people have become my myspace friends.

I find this a lot of fun.

I’ve found that–in the past 10 days–I’ve connected with about 6 people that I haven’t heard from in over 20 years and a bunch of friends I’ve lost touch with more recently.

I found a friend that I went to elementary school with and was friends with all through High School. It was encouraging to find that she’s a strong Christian woman who is shining the love of Jesus to alumni from our old High School.

I found a friend with whom I used to work and whom I love deeply, but haven’t spoken to in a couple of years. His MySpace reflects his love for God and his family.

I found a blog from a Christian friend on which he offers encouraging daily devotions.

I found the MySpace of two missionaries my wife and I support and I found it interesting–and encouraging–to read comments from the people they are working with in South Africa.

This morning I received an email from the owner of a very successful company that produces Triathlon wetsuits. He wanted to be added as my friend. He’s a dynamic Christian. I read his blog and found spiritual nourishment that started my day off on the right foot.

Yes, I have found a lot of junk in pop-up adds and in the pictures sometimes associated with comments, but–to my great surprise–the biggest thing I’ve found on MySpace in the past 10 days is God.

I guess you find what you’re looking for.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

