Sermon Inspiration

February 8, 2007 — Leave a comment

Something happened this morning at 4:32 a.m. that happens on a regular basis to me and I wonder if it happens to other preachers.

I’ve been working on a sermon for next week and struggling with how to say what I think God wants me to say.

I’ve been wrestling with the text, my thoughts, and how to present the message coherently for the past two days.

I just can’t seem to get a clear direction for this message.

I start every sermon with prayer. I mean the process, not just the presentation, but this week I’ve been praying even more than usual.

Well, I woke up this morning at 4:32 a.m. with an entire introduction and sermon outline in my mind. I grabbed a scrap piece of paper and a pen and outlined the entire message.

Wow!

But this happens on a regular basis. My wife often reminds me–when I’m at a mental brick wall–to walk away from my sermon and do something else and it will all work out. And she’s been right every time.

I don’t know if other preachers have this experience, but I find comfort in this because I find God in this.

I can’t do anything without God. My life would be a joke without God and my preaching would be disastrous, so I’m grateful for 4:32 a.m. reminders that God still cares about this world, me, and sermons on parenting.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

