Great Calvin Miller Interview on Wineskins.org

February 5, 2007 — 1 Comment

I’m a huge Calvin Miller fan. I think I’ve read about 20 of his 40 books. My favorite is a book he wrote back in 1984 called, “The Table of Inwardness.” In this book he writes, “No one who rushes into God’s presence is content to stay for long.”

I was visiting http://www.wineskins.org and found an interview their editor did with Calvin Miller.

Here’s an excerpt:

Wineskins: You quote Edward Markquart, calling him a brilliant homilist, who wrote this: “People want their preachers to be authentic human beings . . . who experience the same feelings and struggles as the laity, who do not hide behind the role of reverend so and so.” Can a pastor hide behind the pastorate or scholarship?

Calvin Miller: I do believe confessional preaching is really important. I think what you’ve hit on here . . . I live in a really academic world—and I rarely hear these people talk about their own experience: here’s what Jesus showed me on Thursday. I love Alister McGrath, but I’ve never heard him say that. And I think preachers who live with the people absolutely have to talk about what Jesus showed them on Tuesday or Thursday, or they become irrelevant.

Wineskins: That’s the affair with the text that you spoke about.

Calvin Miller: Exactly.

Wineskins: What kind of affair are you talking about? Illicit or Elicit? (laughs)

Calvin Miller: (laughs) I do think for one thing, it’s not illicit, it’s at least romantic. I think that’s a real good way to think about it. That’s what’s missing: the divine romance with Jesus, the Bible. It’s missing in a lot of contemporary churches that get into jumbotron sermons. It’s missing among the scholars who are looking for the Sanskrit word. It exists for those people who live in the middle.

If you’d like to read the rest of the interview you’ll find it here: New Wineskins

Enjoy!

One response to Great Calvin Miller Interview on Wineskins.org

  1. 

    That’s what’s missing: the divine romance with Jesus, the Bible. It’s missing in a lot of contemporary churches that get into jumbotron sermons. It’s missing among the scholars who are looking for the Sanskrit word. It exists for those people who live in the middle.
    -WOW! and arron, I think it’s so great that we are beginning to give people the Word, that may not have it. Without it, people were surely stumble and fall. Let alone be able to fall in love with Jesus.

Leave a Reply

