Pause to Give Thanks

November 26, 2006 — Leave a comment

Last Thursday, as we sat down for our Thanksgiving feast, we took some extra time to let each person at the table share one thing they were thankful for.

The adults at the table thanked God for family, health, precious memories, good jobs, freedom, and that we were able to be together.

The children also participated.

My eldest daughter said she was thankful for her siblings . . . which came as a huge surprise to her mother and me!

My eldest son–in the midst of a growth spurt–was thankful for the food.

My youngest son and daughter were unanimously grateful for Christmas.

We all have been blessed with countless blessings, so it’s appropriate to stop and thank God before our thanksgiving meal.

In fact, even Jesus, God in the flesh–who made everything, owns everything, and who is everything–paused to give thanks before the last supper in the upper room.

Matthew 26:26-29
While they were eating, Jesus took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to his disciples, saying, “Take and eat; this is my body.” Then he took the cup, gave thanks and offered it to them, saying, “Drink from it, all of you. This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins. I tell you, I will not drink of this fruit of the vine from now on until that day when I drink it anew with you in my Father’s kingdom.”

I’m in my office between services at church.

I’m about to go downstairs for our 10:30 worship service.

I can’t wait until communion time. I’ve got so much to be thankful for.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

