God and the Blue Angels

October 30, 2006 — Leave a comment

Last Friday I went to an air show at the Jacksonville Naval Air Station.

It was amazing, inspiring, and the best part . . . it was completely free!

That’s one of the reasons I love Jacksonville.

Orlando–where I used to live–is a tourist destination, so the local government has invented ways to get money from the people who live and visit there. There are impact fees, association fees, tourist taxes, higher gas prices, and tolls on almost every important road. It used to cost me $2.50 in tolls just to go to church on Sundays.

I digress.

Anyway, I’ve always been fascinated with airplanes, so when my friend David told me about a free air show at the local Navy base and, since my wife and kids are still living in the magical world of fees and I’m in Jax all by myself during the week, I made plans to go to the air show last Friday.

The highlight of the show was supposed to be a performance by the Blue Angels at 3 p.m., but–for me–the highlight of the air show was a performance by God at 2:58 p.m.

The Blue Angels are a squadron of F/A-18 Hornets used by the Navy for promotion and entertainment. The Blue Angels’ show is a high-speed, high-energy, display of American military power.

The show involves the precision flight of 6 jets in tight formations and aerial acrobatics, but the show on Friday was delayed by a flock of about 50 ducks who were flying in formation off the end of the runway.

The Blue Angels’ show was delayed by the flock of ducks for about 10 minutes and I couldn’t help but wonder at the irony of it all.

It seemed to me as if God was saying, “You think you invented flying in formation. You think it’s cool when six human beings fly six multi-million dollar airplanes in formation . . . Well, I invented flight and I invented ducks and I created them to do–for free–what it takes you millions of dollars and countless hours to do. Watch this!”

It’s not every day that the Blue Angels are out-performed by a flock of ducks, but it happened three days ago at an airfield in Jacksonville . . . and I praised God for the awesome display of his power.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

